Cameo 12 K gold filled carved shell brooch pendant, Princess Mara collection. Marathon Jewelry Brand History
The history of the Marathon jewelry brand began in 1897 in Attleboro, Massachusetts. However, it was originally the Attleboro Manufacturing Company, founded in 1890 by eighteen-year-old Samuel Moritz Einstein (1872 – 1957) in partnership with sixteen-year-old Maurice Jay Baer (1874-1946).
The life story of Samuel Einstein is amazing, and shows him as a purposeful and courageous person who at the age of 13 independently came to America and achieved success. (more…)
Carved shell Rose 12 K gold filled brooch pin. 1960s. Russel Creations Vintage Costume Jewelry
The history of the Russel Creations jewelry brand began in 1960 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and lasted just over a decade. The craftsmen of the Russel Jewelry Manufacturing Co. widely advertised their products in the early 1960-70s and sold them in the largest department stores in the United States. They also paid special attention to the packaging of jewelry, selling them in branded boxes with gold-foiled tags.
According to the 1960 jewelry ads, “House of Scarabs” Russel Jewelry Mfg Co were “manufacturers of the finest quality genuine scarab bracelets”, jades, cameos, and cultured pearl jewelry. The craftsmen traditionally used 14 K gold, sterling silver, enamel, semi-precious and precious stones. In particular, sapphires, emeralds, citrine, amethyst, ruby, agate, and others.
The design of the jewelry reflects the fashion of the 1960s and 70s – delicate floral motifs, leaves, animalistic figurative brooches, filigree cameos, shell carvings, curls and filigree frames. These were mainly jewelry pieces for women – necklaces, earrings, clips, bracelets, brooches, pins, pendants, charms, and rings.
Created in the 1960s and 70s using high-quality materials and workmanship, they are now a collector’s item.
Gold plated two tone pewter bird lapel pin. Jewelry art by Virginia Silversmith Mark Roger Shields (July 10, 1948 – April 3, 2020)
Nature and wildlife have always been the greatest inspiration for silversmith and artist Mark Roger Shields (July 10, 1948 – April 3, 2020) of Virginia. Shields studied watercolour painting and later oil painting, capturing the natural beauty of his native land. However, the most important thing in his career was practice. Thus, he began his career as an apprentice at the renowned Colonial Williamsburg Company.
Under the tutelage of William Lawrence de Matteo (October 12, 1923 – May 14, 1988), he learned classical silversmithing techniques and earned the status of Master Silversmith. In March 1983, Mark, in partnership with Holly C. Shields, opened Master Craftsmen Shop Ltd at 32 Yeardleys Grant, Williamsburg, Virginia. The company also worked under the brand Mark Shields studio. Noteworthy, Mark designed animal ornaments for the Virginia Living, an open-air museum located in Newport News, Virginia for several years.
After seven years with the company, in 1990 he founded his own company, b. creative, ltd, registered at 282 Deerwood Dr, Blairs, Virginia. Shields designed jewellery until he retired in 2015, but b. creative, ltd ceased to exist in 2023.
Mark traditionally used pewter, gold and silver plating to create unique jewellery pieces – brooches, pins and earrings. The markings on the back of the pieces include “Shields”, “Pewter”, and/or “Handwrought”. His most famous line of pewter brooches features dog breeds and birds, which are now collectibles. The colour combination of silver, gold and pewter demonstrates the hand of a true artist, which Mark was. (more…)
Incorporated in New York in 1961, SG D’OR INDUSTRIES LTD. manufactured shoe clips for thirty years. According to SG D’OR advertising, shoe clips are the finishing touch that allows you to transform ordinary shoes into unique designs. Indeed, with each new clip, you can completely change the look of your dress shoes and add some vintage charm and a touch of glamour to any outfit.
Shoe embellishments are a part of costume jewelry, and their creation requires the same materials as costume jewelry. Rhinestones, glass, faux pearls, gold and silver-tone metal alloys, as well as satin, suede, glitter, and an endless variety of designs and styles. Marked with S.G. D’OR and Pat Pend, these shoe clips just like branded costume jewelry, are collectibles.
Registered at the address Joseph D. Tarlowe, 115 Broadway, New York, New York, 10006, SG D’OR INDUSTRIES (alternate name D’OR BOWS, INC.) ceased to exist in 1993. (more…)
Bird nest with eggs silver tone pave rhinestones brooch, 1950s. H. M. Schrager Costume Jewelry History
Born in 1898 in Russia, H M Schrager emigrated to the USA and settled in Northern Illinois before 1920. He was lucky to find a job in W Reichert & Co, 15 W. 37th Street, New York. According to the 1922-25 Jewelers’ Circular Keystone, Schrager was “for many years a traveling representative for W. Reichert & Co.”, wholesale dealers in art jewelry and novelties.
Undoubtedly, working for the company became an invaluable experience for the young man and a springboard into the world of jewelry business. (more…)
Basket flowers gold tone rhinestone brooch. Signed Craft Vintage Costume Jewelry
The great American jewelry designer Gene Verri, aka Guido Verrecchia (1911-2013) began a new era in American costume jewelry. Namely, the transition from two-dimensional geometric modernist designs to naturalistic relief-figured three-dimensional forms.
From 1933 to 1965, Verri was the chief designer of the legendary company Cohn & Rosenberger, and it was he who led CoRo to the heights of fame. In 1947, Guido Verrecchia, together with his twin brother Alfeo, opened a family company. In order to clearly trace the connection with Coro Craft, where the master continued to work, he called the company Gem-Craft. Noteworthy, Verri created both his own branded jewelry and jewelry commissioned by Oscar de la Renta, Kenneth Jay Lane, Kramer and many other famous brands.
According to Rhode Island Business Portal, Gem-Craft Inc. merged with Sample-Art Company in 1967. The renewed Gem-Craft company launched four trademark on manufacture of costume jewelry. Among them were Craft (1979-2010), The Adjustable (1980-1999), Attachables (1980-1988), and Anywhere (1982-1989).
Established in 1947 in Cranston Rhode Island, a manufacturer and wholesaler of costume jewelry Gem-Craft Inc ceased to exist in 2024.
Notable, there were similar companies that created Craft-marked jewelry at the same time. Among them, in particular, The Craft Company, Inc. (New Jersey, 24 Jul 1947), Creative Craft Company (New Jersey, 1954), and Craft Jewelry Creations Of San Francisco (California, 1968- 1971). Yet, the oldest Craft company was established in Indianapolis, Indiana, in 1904. (more…)
Unicorn silver plated pewter Christmas ornament by Kirk Stieff Colonial Williamsburg. Stieff Fine Sterling Company History
A native of Baltimore, Charles C. Stieff (1862 – 1923) founded The Stieff Co., sterling silver manufacturers, in 1892. His his only son Gideon N. Stieff joined the company and became its president in 1914, when his father relinquished the presidency of his firm.
On May 26, 1923, Charles C. Stieff, one of Baltimore’s most prominent businessmen, died suddenly at his desk in the Stieff Building at 17 N. Liberty St. He was 61 years old and died of heart disease.
Company records describe Stiff as “a natural leader who left behind him a legacy of positive action for American silver.” He was instrumental in enforcing the Maryland Silver Standards, which required all sterling silver to be at least 92.5 fine. (more…)