Goodman & Company Fine Jewelry Since 1903

A Brooklyn native, Benjamin Goodman (1871 – 1941) founded his own jewelry house Benjamin Goodman, Inc., in 1903. His elder brother Jacob Goodman (1869 – 1942) joined the firm. The company’s headquarters and factory were located at 71 Fifth Avenue in New York City and 42 Washington Street in Indianapolis, Indiana.
It is noteworthy that the company’s advertisements indicate different dates of foundation – 1903 or 1904. Jacob Goodman’s son, Morris Goodman, joined his father’s business in 1914, upon graduation from the Shortridge High School, and became a traveling salesman. He sold products to retail stores across the country. From that time on, the firm changed its name to Goodman & Company.

Goodman and Company originally operated as a wholesale jewelry distributor in Indianapolis. In 1932, Goodman expanded its operations to jewelry manufacturing. They made an extensive line of rings consisting of Emblem Rings, Stone Rings, Diamond Mountings and Wedding Rings of better than average quality.
Goodman jewelers traditionally used 14 K gold, platinum and various colored stones, crystals, opals, topaz, amethyst, and diamonds.

Trademarks
Among the trademarks launched by Goodman & Co were Gem Crest and Rhodigem (both registered in 1941) for manufacture of necklaces, bracelets, brooches and lockets. Also, Line-Stars and Magni-top, registered in 1954, for rings, brooches, scarf pins and earrings.
Goodman’s company closed in the late 1960s.

Ads















