L.S.Peterson Jewelry Company History

Before starting his own company in 1938 in North Attleboro, Lester S. Peterson had a wealth of experience in the jewelry business, as evidenced by the frequent mentions of his name in periodicals of the time. For example, the Jewelers Circular of March 17, 1926, mentions Lester S. Peterson, a member of The New England Manufacturing Jewelers’ and Silversmiths’ Association.
In the 1920s Lester worked as a sales representative for the G. C. Hudson Co, North Attleboro, in the 1920s. His brother, Henry A. Peterson, also worked for George Cheever Hudson’s manufacturing jewelry firm. According to the Jeweler’s Circular Keystone, Henry A. Peterson joined L. S. Peterson, 60 Elm St., North Attleboro MA, in 1939.

Notably, Henry A. Peterson became president of the Peterson L S Co Inc in the early 1940s. He was also active in such professional associations, as ANRJA (American National Retail Jewelers of America) and NEMJ&SA – New England Manufacturing Jewelers’ & Silversmiths’ Association. Moreover, in the 1945-1949 he was elected First vice-president of NEMJ&SA.

The L.S.P. product range was quite diverse – Baby jewelry, Identification Bracelets, Cameo, Men’s Tie Bars & Tacks, Money Clips, Cuff links, Cuff Bracelets, Rings, and Jewel Boxes. Also, Religious and Emblematic jewelry, Gold Filled and Gold Plated jewelry, Scarab Bracelets, Cloisonne, Gold Filled Lockets, Bolo Ties and Gold Plated Pendants.

Peterson manufactured jewelry under three trademarks – “L.S. Peterson Co Inc”, “L.S.P. co” and “Little Princess” (baby jewelry) until the late 1960s.


L.S.Peterson Vintage Jewelry

















